Dej Loaf working On Album 

Dej Loaf went into detail about her upcoming but still untitled album and contributors to the LP in a recent interview. She also revealed the way in which she creates, which is to take her time and wait for the right moment to make a decision. She comes across as someone who genuinely cares about what her fans will think about her product, and explains as much in the following passage, when asked the title of her imminent project. I don’t want to put out just anything. I want to make sure it’s perfect. They’re already giving me hell about this and that. I’m just going to take my time with it. I’m not rushing it. If I feel confident enough next month and I got a good album, then, ‘Yeah, okay, we got it.’ I’m not going to rush it; I’m not going to take too long.” She does share that there is enough material for an album, and some artists would consider that the time to release their work, but not Dej Loaf. She says: I’ve got enough songs to be like, ‘Here’s an album.’ But everybody does that, that’s why their albums be… I’m just going to take my time with the album… I don’t [have a title yet]. I have a couple names but I’m just going to let it flow. I’m going to do the music and then [go with] whatever feeling I come up with.” Having stated that she will be taking her time and ensuring that the work will be of the highest standard, she also revealed what type of album it will be. She did this by comparing it to the work she did on her first and relatively unknown mixtape, Just Do It. She said: I just want to re-tell my story. I did that on my first mixtape but a lot of people didn’t hear it; it’s called Just Do It. I just really told my story [on there], so I’m going to do it again. Just to reintroduce myself to the world, now that I have a lot of new people tuning in. I’m going to introduce myself and tell my story in stylish ways.” Part of the reason she has “new people tuning in” is due to her work with Shady Records. D12 member, Bizarre, is a fan of hers too, which doesn’t hurt. Towards the close of the interview, Dej Loaf shed some light on her work on “Detroit vs. Everybody,” from the Shady XV album, released November last year, and spoke about Eminem: I didn’t get to meet him yet but the record was crazy. Royce Da 5’9 reached out for us to come to the studio and we went to the studio. He played the record and he was tellin’ me who he wanted on it. He was tellin’ me Big Sean, Danny Brown and just everybody who was on there. He was like, ‘You’ve got to get on it, too.’ You never know what’s going to get on what when you do records with people. Sometimes they never come out and you’ll be like, ‘What happened to that song we did?’ I didn’t know it was going to be on the album. He mentioned it but like I said, you never know. But when the tracklist came out and the track made the album, I was getting so many shout outs. I appreciate him for giving me that opportunity.” Unfortunately, she didn’t meet Eminem, but she does have a strong relationship with Philadelphia rapper Meek Mill, and he is someone who will be featuring on her upcoming album because when she was asked about his contribution to her anticipated LP, she said: Yeah, Meek is cool. He reached out when he came home [from jail]. He’s interested in my music, he likes it. He hit me up on FaceTime, he was like, ‘Yo! Your music is crazy. If anybody riding with me right now, they’re listening to Dej Loaf. That’s all I’m playing.’ He was rapping my lyrics and he told me his favorite song was ‘I Got It’ on the Sell Sole mixtape. He just rocks with what I’m doing. We flew out to Miami and we did those records. He’s definitely cool. I could see us being really cool. The whole Dreamchasers family, they’re cool guys.” Another contributor for which she is hopeful is DMX. She added that she spoke with DMX and expressed her desire to get him on the album. He apparently told her that he’s “just a phone call away,” so with DMX at her fingertips and Meek already confirmed, there is reason for Dej Loaf to be excited about her work, and pretty soon we will be too.

Leave a comment